ATLANTIC APPETITES + THE NIGERDELTA EXPERIENCE

ATLANTIC APPETITES

culinary talks with L. Sasha Gora & Rafram Chaddad

THE NIGERDELTA EXPERIENCE

Interview with Sule Emmanuel Egya

How do fish, the culture of their catch and their preparation create and change the Atlantic and Mediterranean world? Cultural historian L. Sasha Gora and artist Rafram Chaddad share research, stories and snacks about Atlantic cod in a mixture of conversation and culinary presentation: “the fish that changed the world”. Their conversation weaves together stories about cod, movement and migration, cuisine and belonging, and ends with a tasting, both with and without fish.

The Niger Delta region in Nigeria is the largest ecological crisis area in Africa. This crisis has its roots in the history of the Atlantic crossing and the consequences of colonialism. Oil has been extracted in the Niger Delta by multinational corporations such as Shell and BP since the 1950s. Since then, poorly maintained pipelines and oil spills have repeatedly contaminated the 70,000 square kilometer delta area with its river arms, mangroves and swamps. The soil and drinking water are contaminated with chromium, lead and mercury, and the fishing grounds off the coast are also becoming unusable due to oil poisoning. All of this puts the local population in a catastrophic situation. The discussion with the author and researcher Sule Emmanuel Egya focuses on the experience of the Niger Delta as a painful interplay of ethnicity, ecology and petrodollar capitalism against the backdrop of local resistance. Commonwealth Book Prize winner Egya has been working for years on environmental justice and environmental activism, as well as the effects of colonialism.

 

August 02 – Environmental Education Center – 7:30 p.m.

The event will be held partly in English. Admission is free. Seat reservations are recommended at info@waterandsound.de

Contributors

L. Sasha Gora has been working at the University of Augsburg since May 2023 as project leader of the research group “Off the Menu: Appetites, Culture, and Environment”. With a focus on cod, her current work examines the relationship between food and ecology as well as between cuisine, culture and the climate crisis.


Rafram Chaddad
is a visual artist living in Tunis. In his work, he reflects on his personal life experiences and comments on broader socio-political issues such as migration and displacement, identity, food and belonging. Last summer, he presented his solo exhibition “the good seven years” at B7L9 in Tunis and published an artist’s book of the same name.


Sule Emmanuel Egya
is a poet, author and Professor of African Literature and Ecological Humanities at the Ibrahim Badamasi Babangida University in Lapai, Nigeria. He is currently a research assistant at the College of Social Sciences and Humanities of the University Alliance Essen.

The actress
Jenny Langner
has been in front of the camera for film and television since 2012 and also works as a speaker and presenter. She has been engaged at the Staatstheater Augsburg since the 2020/21 season.

ATLANTIC APPETITES + THE NIGERDELTA EXPERIENCE

ATLANTIC APPETITES

kulinarische Gespräche mit L. Sasha Gora & Rafram Chaddad

THE NIGERDELTA EXPERIENCE

Gespräch mit Sule Emmanuel Egya

Wie schaffen und verändern Fische, die Kultur ihres Fangs sowie ihrer Zubereitung die atlantische und mediterrane Welt? Die Kulturhistorikerin L. Sasha Gora und der Künstler Rafram Chaddad tauschen in einer Mischung aus Gespräch und kulinarischer Darbietung Recherchen, Geschichten und Snacks über den atlantischen Kabeljau aus: »dem Fisch, der die Welt verändert hat«. Ihr Gespräch verwebt Geschichten über Kabeljau, Bewegung und Migration, über Küche und Zugehörigkeit miteinander und endet mit einer Verkostung, sowohl mit als auch ohne Fisch.

Die Region des Nigerdeltas in Nigeria ist das größte ökologische Krisengebiet Afrikas. Diese Krise hat ihre Wurzeln in der Geschichte der Atlantiküberquerung und den Folgen des Kolonialismus. Im Nigerdelta wird seit den 1950er Jahren Öl von Multinationalen Konzernen wie Shell und BP gefördert. Schlecht gewartete Pipelines und Ölunfälle verseuchen seitdem immer wieder das 70.000 Quadratkilometer große Deltagebiet mit ihren Flussarmen, Mangroven und Sümpfen. Die Böden und das Trinkwasser sind durch Chrom, Blei und Quecksilber verseucht, und auch die Fischgründe vor der Küste werden durch die Erdölvergiftung unbrauchbar. Das alles stellt die heimische Bevölkerung vor eine katastrophale Situation. Im Mittelpunkt des Gesprächs mit dem Autor und Forscher Sule Emmanuel Egya steht die Erfahrung des Nigerdeltas als schmerzhaftes Zusammenspiel von Ethnie, Ökologie und Petrodollarkapitalismus vor dem Hintergrund des lokalen Widerstands. Der Commonwealth Book Prize-Träger Egya setzt sich seit Jahren mit Umweltgerechtigkeit und Umweltaktivismus, sowie den Auswirkungen von Kolonialismus auseinander.

 

02. August · Umweltbildungszentrum · 19:30 Uhr

Die Veranstaltung findet zum Teil in englischer Sprache statt. Der Eintritt ist frei. Sitzplatzreservierungen werden empfohlen unter info@waterandsound.de

Mitwirkende

L. Sasha Gora arbeitet seit Mai 2023 an der Universität Augsburg als Projektleiterin der Forschungsgruppe »Off the Menu: Appetites, Culture, and Environment«. Mit dem Schwerpunkt Kabeljau untersucht sie in ihrer aktuellen Arbeit die Beziehung zwischen Essen und Ökologie sowie zwischen Küche, Kultur und der Klimakrise.

Rafram Chaddad ist ein in Tunis lebender bildender Künstler. In seinen Arbeiten reflektiert er seine persönlichen Lebenserfahrungen und kommentiert allgemeinere gesellschaftspolitische Themen wie Migration und Vertreibung, Identität, Essen und Zugehörigkeit. Im vergangenen Sommer  präsentierte er seine Einzelausstellung »the good seven years« im B7L9 in Tunis und veröffentlichte ein gleichnamiges Künstlerbuch.

Sule Emmanuel Egya ist Dichter, Autor und Professor für afrikanische Literatur und Ecological Humanities an der Ibrahim Badamasi Babangida Universität in Lapai, Nigeria. Zurzeit ist er wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am College of Social Sciences and Humanities der Universitätsallianz Essen.

Die Schauspielerin Jenny Langner steht seit 2012 für Film und Fernsehen vor der Kamera und ist auch als Sprecherin und Moderatorin tätig. Sie ist seit der Saison 2020 / 21 am Staatstheater Augsburg engagiert.