ATLANTIC EXCHANGE: Panel and Artist Talk

ATLANTIC EXCHANGE

Panel & Artist Talk on the music of the Atlantic and the Black Atlantic

The syncopations of Brazilian bloco afro, the polyrhythmic percussion of Ghana, the radiant liveliness of Nigerian Afro-beat and the fast, complex improvisations of New York bebop connect listeners and players in a way that spans time, space and the Atlantic Ocean. Fed by the interaction between the continents of Africa, Europe and the Americas, the music of the Atlantic region in its diversity and global significance is always characterized by the shared experience of a common, often painful history.

In conversation with Mascha Salgado de Matos (Akademie der Bildenden Kunst München), cultural historian Rachel Gillett (Utrecht University) explores the role of sound in shaping the ideas of Paul Gilroy’s “Black Atlantic” as a historical space. How do creatives use music, art and narratives to make intellectual, political, anti-colonial and emancipatory demands? This question is complemented by the perspective of the musician and activist Kokonelle, her biographical experiences between the Congo and Germany, as well as her rap music as a form of activism on topics of empowerment and anti-racism.

The second part of the panel explores the diversity of Colombian music with its indigenous, African and Spanish elements with musicians Diana Sanmiguel and Giovanna Mogollón. At home in the melting pot of Bogotá, they have followed the “songs of the river and the sea” from the interior to the coast on research trips and trace traditional Afro-Colombian rhythms such as cumbia, clupa and mapalé as part of their music projects.

 

July 25 – Hall 1 – Raum für Kunst im Glaspalast – Admission 19:30 – Start 20:00

The event will be held partly in English. Admission is free. Seat reservations are recommended at info@waterandsound.de

Contributors

Rachel Anne Gillett is Assistant Professor of Cultural History at Utrecht University, where she teaches Modern Europe and Empire. Her research focuses on ethnicity in France, popular culture and the Black Atlantic. Gillett earned his doctorate at Northeastern
University Boston in world history and taught at Harvard University.


Mascha Salgado de Matos
is a research assistant at the Chair of Philosophy and Aesthetic Theory at the Academy of Fine Arts Munich. She is currently working on her dissertation project on the theme of the ocean as a motif, metaphor and figure of thought in Portuguese visual art from the Carnation Revolution (1974) to the present day.


Kokonelle
is a singer, rapper and songwriter with Congolese roots (Kinshasa) and has been performing on stage since her youth. Her lyrics are in English, Lingala, French and German.

 

 

 

Diana Sanmiguel and Giovanna Mogollón are musicians of the groups La Sonora Mazuren and La Perla and are based in Bogotà, Colombia

ATLANTIC EXCHANGE: Panel and Artist Talk

ATLANTIC EXCHANGE

Panel & Artist Talk zur Musik des Atlantiks und dem Black Atlantic

Die Synkopen des brasilianischen Bloco-Afro, die polyrhythmische Perkussion Ghanas, die strahlende Lebendigkeit des nigerianischen Afro-Beat und die schnellen, komplexen Improvisationen des New Yorker Bebop verbinden Zuhörende und Spielende auf eine Weise, die Zeit, Raum und den atlantischen Ozean überspannen. Gespeist von der Interaktion zwischen den Kontinenten Afrikas, Europas und Amerikas, ist die Musik des atlantischen Raums in seiner Vielfalt und globalen Bedeutung stets auch geprägt von der geteilten Erfahrung einer gemeinsamen, oft leidvollen Geschichte.

Im Gespräch mit Mascha Salgado de Matos (Akademie der Bildenden Kunst München) geht die Kulturhistorikerin Rachel Gillett (Utrecht University) der Frage nach, welche Rolle Klang bei der Ideengestaltung von Paul Gilroy’s »Black Atlantic« als historischen Raum spielt. Wie nutzen Kreative Musik, Kunst und Narrative, um intellektuelle, politische, antikoloniale und emanzipatorische Forderungen zu stellen? Ergänzt wird diese Frage durch die Perspektive der Musikerin und Aktivistin Kokonelle, ihren biografischen Erfahrungen zwischen dem Kongo und  Deutschland, sowie ihre Rap-Musik als Form des Aktivismus zu Themen des Empowerments und Antirassismus.

Der zweite Teil des Panels ergründet mit den Musikerinnen Diana Sanmiguel and Giovanna Mogollón die Vielfalt der kolumbianischen Musik mit ihren indigenen, afrikanischen und spanischen Elementen. Zuhause im Schmelztiegel Bogotá sind sie auf Recherchereisen den »Liedern des Flusses und des Meeres« vom Landesinneren zur Küste gefolgt und spüren im Rahmen ihrer Musikprojekte den traditionellen afro-kolumbianische Rhythmen wie Cumbia, Clupa and Mapalé nach.

 

25. Juli · Halle 1 – Raum für Kunst im Glaspalast · Einlass 19:30 Uhr · Beginn 20:00 Uhr

Die Veranstaltung findet zum Teil in englischer Sprache statt. Der Eintritt ist frei. Sitzplatzreservierungen werden empfohlen unter info@waterandsound.de

Mitwirkende

Rachel Anne Gillett ist Assistenzprofessorin für Kulturgeschichte an der Universität Utrecht, wo sie Modernes Europa und Empire unterrichtet. Ihre Forschungsschwerpunkte sind ethnische Zugehörigkeit in Frankreich, Populärkultur und der Black Atlantic. Gillett promovierte an der Northeastern
University Boston in Weltgeschichte und unterrichtete an der Harvard University.

Mascha Salgado de Matos ist wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin am Lehrstuhl für Philosophie-Ästhetische Theorie an der Akademie der Bildenden Künste München. Aktuell arbeitet sie an ihrem Dissertationsprojekt zum Thema des Ozeans als Motiv, Metapher und Denkfigur in der bildenden Kunst Portugals seit der Nelkenrevolution (1974) bis in die Gegenwart.

Kokonelle ist Sängerin, Rapperin und Songwriterin mit kongolesischen Wurzeln (Kinshasa) und steht schon seit ihrer Jugendzeit auf der Bühne. Ihre Texte sind auf Englisch, Lingala, Französisch und Deutsch.

 

 

 

Diana Sanmiguel and Giovanna Mogollón sind Musikerinnen der Gruppen La Sonora Mazuren und La Perla und in Bogotà, Kolumbien zu Hause